What are the Chinese zodiac signs?

By Fei Gao on Nov 10, 2023

The Chinese zodiac is a system of twelve years, each represented by an animal. The animals are rat, ox, tiger, rabbit, dragon, snake, horse, goat, monkey, rooster, dog, and pig. The zodiac is an important part of Chinese traditional culture and is widely circulated among the people.

Origin of the Chinese zodiac

There are many different theories about the origin of the Chinese zodiac. One of the most popular theories is that the zodiac originated from ancient people's worship of animals. In ancient times, people regarded animals as totems and endowed them with magical powers. Later, with the passage of time, people gradually combined animals with the twelve zodiac signs, forming the twelve zodiac signs.

Calculation of the Chinese zodiac

According to the traditional Chinese calendar, the twelve zodiac signs are used to record years, months, and days. The calculation method of the twelve zodiac signs is as follows:

  • Year: Starting with "jiazi", it is a cycle of 60 years, repeating in a loop.
  • Month: Starting with "yin month", one zodiac sign per month, repeating in a loop.
  • Date: Starting with "first day", one zodiac sign per day, repeating in a loop.

For example, 2023 is the year of renyin, which is the year of the tiger. Therefore, January 2023 is the month of yin, and January 1, 2023 is the day of the tiger.

Symbolic meaning of the Chinese zodiac

The twelve zodiac signs are not only used to record years, months, and days, but also have certain symbolic meanings. Each zodiac sign has its own unique personality and characteristics, representing different people or things.

For example, the rat represents cleverness and agility; the ox represents diligence and perseverance; the tiger represents bravery and dignity; the rabbit represents gentleness and kindness; the dragon represents auspiciousness and good luck; the snake represents wisdom and mystery; the horse represents galloping and vitality; the sheep represents docility and kindness; the monkey represents intelligence and wit; the chicken represents pride and diligence; the dog represents loyalty and protection; and the pig represents kindness and kindness.

The twelve zodiac signs are an important part of Chinese traditional culture, reflecting the wisdom and creativity of the Chinese nation. It is not only a tool for people to record years, months, and days, but also has certain symbolic meanings, reflecting people's understanding of natural and social phenomena.

PreviousWhat are the supplies for Chinese calligraphy?
NextIntroduction to Chinese Painting

Related articles

Leave a comment

0 comment

Recent posts